Body Types

Enneagram Body Types: Uncover Hidden Depths of Gut Triad

Enneagram Body Types, encompassing types 8, 9, and 1, are characterized by the controlling emotion of rage or anger; each has its way to deal with the anger.

Body Types

In Enneagram’s center of intelligence triads, the Body types, comprising Enneagram types 8, 9, and 1, are associated with the instinctive or gut center. That’s why Enneagram Body Types or the Body triad are often referred to as the gut triad, the instinctive triad, or the anger triad. This group of Enneatypes often relies on instinctual reactions and gut feelings. Members of this triad tend to make decisions based on their immediate and strong physical and emotional needs. What else is special about Enneagram Body Types? Read along to learn about distinct traits, dynamics, controlling emotions, and core motivations associated with this triad.

What is Enneagram Body Types?

Within the realm of the Enneagram, the Body types, including personality types 1, 8, and 9, are more commonly known as the Instinctive Triad or the Gut Triad. Several shared traits among these Enneatypes unite them in a single triad, particularly about highly instinctive energy and the dominant emotion of ANGER or RAGE.

The reason why Enneagram Body Types are called the Instinctive or Gut Triad instead of any other name lies in the fact that they rely on their gut feelings or physical sensations to make decisions. At the core of this triad is a heightened awareness of instinctual impulses and a close connection to physical sensations.

Individuals with this triad tend to be driven by a desire for control and autonomy and have a strong sense of self-preservation and self-determination. They are also concerned with maintaining resistance to reality and driven by an inner sense of justice and fairness, often striving to create order and maintain a sense of control in their environment.

Despite their similarities, it’s also worth emphasizing that each type within this Enneagram triad has different ways to express and deal with their underlying feeling of anger. Eights express their anger outwardly and directly, often using it as a source of power and confidence. Ones repress and control their anger, while Nines deny and avoid their anger.

When healthy, the Instinctive types are not easily swayed by the opinions of others or the circumstances of the present moment. They are relaxed and open, and they respond authentically to the situation at hand. However, when unhealthy or out of balance, they may become aggressive or resentful and likely lose touch with their true selves and emotions.

Enneagram Body Types – Types 8, 9 and 1

Here’s a more comprehensive and closer look at the distinct traits and features existing within each personality type of the Enneagram Body Types, or the Instinctive (or Gut) Triad:

Enneagram Personality Type 8: The Challenger

Described as powerful, assertive, confident, and even confrontational, Type 8 stands as a formidable force within the Gut Triad. Individuals belonging to this type are characterized by a strong sense of self, a desire for power and control, and a willingness to confront challenges and conflicts. They rely on their gut instincts and physical sensations to make decisions. Eights also value honesty, justice, and independence.

Despite being often assertive and confident, those with type 8 can be aggressive, domineering, and intimidating. While their assertiveness can be intimidating, beneath the surface may lie a vulnerability they guard fiercely.

When healthy, they are generous, loyal, protective, and courageous, and they use their anger constructively to fight for what is right and fair. However, when unhealthy, they often tend to overvalue power.

The key for Type 8s lies in cultivating a balance between strength and openness, allowing their instincts to guide them positively without overpowering the connections and collaborations that contribute to their personal growth and fulfillment.

Enneagram Personality Type 9: The Peacemaker

As its name suggests, type 9 is characterized by a strong desire for harmony, stability, and, particularly, peace. They rely on their gut feelings and physical sensations to make decisions, and they value being receptive and adaptable to the situation. Nines are often warm, welcoming, easygoing, and optimistic. However, these individuals can also be passive, complacent, and conflict-avoidant.

As rooted in the instinct for self-preservation, Type 9s seek to avoid conflict and tension and maintain a serene environment and inner calm. They fear being separated or disconnected from others.

One of the biggest challenges faced by Type 9 is the potential to neglect personal needs and desires to maintain external harmony. They tend to often place the needs and desires of others before their own to maintain harmony with others.

When healthy, Nines are open, supportive, and inclusive, and they can heal conflict and restore balance and justice. On the other hand, when unhealthy, members of Enneagram type 9 can be disengaged, stubborn, and passive-aggressive; not only do they avoid conflict, but also everything in life, including themselves.

The journey for Type 9 involves harnessing their innate instincts and strong gut feelings for self-preservation to establish a balance between maintaining peace and expressing their own needs, ultimately boosting a state of wholeness and fulfillment.

Enneagram Personality Type 1: The Perfectionist or The Reformer

Guided by a deep sense of order, moral integrity, and perfection, Type 1 individuals exhibit a determined and principled approach to life with an actual great sense of right and wrong. They have a real fear of imperfection while valuing integrity, justice, and improvement. They are often self-disciplined, principled, rational, and conscientious; however, it’s worth noting that they can also be critical, rigid, and self-righteous.

Rooted in the instinct for self-preservation, they navigate the world with a meticulous eye for detail and a commitment to high standards. They are guided and motivated by a strong need to be good, right, and ethical.

When healthy, those with Enneatype 1 are wise, objective, discerning, responsible, and able to reform and correct what is wrong. However, when in an unhealthy state, they are judgmental, resentful, and intolerant, and they tend to use their anger to blame and punish others.

The real challenge for Type 1s lies in navigating the fine line between constructive self-improvement and unattainable perfectionism. They also have problems with the impatience of their repressed anger. So, what they should do is embrace the positive aspects of their instincts while cultivating self-compassion and flexibility, allowing for personal growth without succumbing to the rigid constraints of their expectations.

In conclusion, as associated with the intrinsic or gut center, Enneagram Body Types rely on instinctive reactions and gut feelings to make decisions. They share the common dominant feeling of anger or rage; however, each type has its own way of dealing with that rage and effective strategies for managing emotions and fostering personal growth.